Hotel in The Lake District Broadoaks Dietry Requirements Page Logo 1.0


At Broadoaks we take allergens and allergies very seriously. Our chefs prepare our menus per the guidelines set out by the Foods Standards Agency.

Sharon and her team are always happy to cater for any specific dietary requirements, whether it’s a wheat or nut allergy or maybe there’s something that a new trendy diet won’t allow.

All we ask is that you please give our team 48 hours’ notice for anything other than Vegetarian or Vegan diets (these options are fully catered for each day

Sharon has undertaken considerable research in putting together our menus. In some instances however we are reliant on the products and ingredients purchased from external suppliers so whilst we try to ensure that they are allergen free we cannot accept any responsibility whatsoever if such products contain items that we are unaware of.

Guests with severe allergies are advised to assess their own level of risk and consume dishes at their own risk.

We will make sure your experience isn’t compromised just because you need something a little different. Sharon is a creative and considerate chef, so please don’t feel like you’re putting us out we enjoy a challenge!

We have created the table below with the appropriate abbreviations to help you inform us in advance of any specific requirements that you or your guests may have.

FSA Logo

Breakdown of Dietary Requirements

Vegetarian (V) Does not contain meat, fish or seafood. May contain dairy products such as milk, butter, cheese and eggs
Vegan (Ve) Does not contain meat, fish, fowl, eggs, honey, dairy products or derivatives
Gluten-free meal (GF) Excluded foods are wheat or wheat flour, barley oats and rye, bread, cakes (unless what free), pastry, sausages or any flour based products
Diabetic meal (D) Free of sugar, syrup, jams, cakes, chocolates, sweets, pudding, fried and fatty foods
Low lactose (L) Excludes cheese, dairy products and their derivatives also lactose or milk products.

We are also able to cater for the below special diets.

Low-salt/sodium meal (LSML) Free of salt, garlic salt, MSG, baking powder, salt-cured meats/fish or sausages, salad cream, instant potato mix, gravies, canned vegetables, canned fish, canned pickles, shellfish, cheese and meat
Muslim (M) Does not contain: pork, by-products of pork or foodstuffs containing alcohol. All meats come from ritually slaughtered animals.
Hindu (H) Does not contain: fish, shellfish, meat, poultry or eggs. This is a meat free, spicy meal.