Broadoaks Country House Hotel
Country House Hotel & Garden Suites

Guest Reviews

Reviews

Trip Advisor

We would like to thank all of our previous guests for taking the time to write a review about their experience at Broadoaks. To take a look at what people have said please click on either the 'Trip Advisor' logo on the right or read our guest comments below.

We try extremely hard at Broadoaks to deliver the best customer  experience that we possibly can.
We strive to continually improve our "guests' experience" all of the time by learning from things we could have done better or by trying out new things that we discuss as a team, often our ideas come from our own experiences  as individuals staying in other places or eating in new places.

We hope you find this section useful and look forward to  meeting you if you do decide to book with us.

Thanks

Tracey and Jo
xx

PS Don’t forget to book with us directly as we guarantee to always offer you the best deal possible.

 

"Your most unhappy customers are your greatest source of learning."
Bill Gates

What our guests say...

Hi I just wanted to pass on our thanks and gratitude to all your staff members for making our stay a memorable one. Particularly the lovely lady on reception who managed to organise our afternoon cream teas even though we had arrived later than expected. Your staffs hospitality and level of professionalism was impressive and well appreciated. We all had a lovely & relaxed time and looking forward to a return trip. Take care

Ms Beverly Nicol - August 2013

Just wanted to say a massive thank you for what was a wonderful stay at Broadoaks. The Boudoir was an unexpected, delightful upgrade surprise and we are really grateful for that experience. The touch of arranging a bottle of bubbly and card for my wife was incredibly thoughtful and generous and just underlined the quality and class of the place. Nothing was too much trouble, so sorry for taking the advantage of calling for our fire to be lit, or for breakfast in bed!!

We have just had a little girl and were looking for some R&R whilst the grandparents looked after her, and we certainly got that in spades.

We will certainly be placing a review on Trip Advisor and recommending the place to everyone, not to mention returning in the near future I hope! Keep up the very very good work!

Patricia and Chris - December 2012

To Tracy, Lady Jo and Andrea and staff.

Phillip & Phillippa's Wedding November 18th 2012

Just a few lines to say thank you to all of you for making the day so special. We were made so welcome and all the arrangements for the Day were so well organised.

Please pass my thanks to everyone.

David L. Wood M.B.E - November 2012

To all staff at Broadoaks,
Thank you so much for your wonderful hospitality at the wedding of George and Steve yesterday.  As a guest I was so impressed by the beautiful venue, professional yet friendly staff and the warm welcome we all received.  Nothing was too much trouble, the food was to die for and the accommodation was amazing.  The attention to detail makes all the difference.  Sadly our stay was just one night! Thank you for making the wedding such a special time for George and Steve and all their guests.

Kind regards,

Steph (Chippenham) - November 2012

A fabulous stay!

We drove up from Devon and our friends (Harry & Lynn Lea) joined us from Lancaster for what was a brilliant stay for the four of us at Broadoaks.

We were most impressed with the hospitality at Broadoaks and felt we should drop a line to convey our delight, and in particular nominate Nigel for 'going the extra mile' award.

From the moment we checked in, Nigel took us to our rooms and made us feel 'at home' straight away. Always with a smile, he was most attentive, polite and courteous throughout our stay. Nothing was ever too much trouble for him. Always in the background but there when we needed him...... he achieves the right balance between friendly and professional.

The team at Broadoaks create a warm, comfortable and relaxed atmosphere.  We were able to relax completely and thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and yes! the fine dining and wine was absolutely superb.

I remember from my working days...... TEAM work (Together Everyone Achieves More) At Broadoaks this certainly comes accross, with fantastic staff working towards the comfort of the guest, and noticably the staff are able to 'multi task'......... Well done to all!

I'm sure it won't be too long before the four of us visit Broadoaks again, and we'll certainly 'spread the word'.

Many thanks once again to you all,

Michael and Charlotte Payne, Exminster, Devon - 24 & 25 April 2012

Dear Tracy and Joanne,

Since my wife and I were married many years ago, we have always spent Christmas as a familiy together. Last year was rather hectic and we thought this year we would spend Christmas away and let others take the workload. We made a booking at Broadoaks several months ago, but after doing so, we had doubts and concern whether or not we had made the right choice of venue. I am recently retired and I am in the "Grumpy old man" catagory and generally have a moan when things are not quite up to standard.
I would really like to congratulate you both on a really wonderful little corner of heaven you have put together here at Troutbeck. Every member of staff without exception have been so friendly and helpful beyond expectation. The food and cooking, again well above what we expected and the bedrooms and public rooms were clean, comfortable and well maintained. My views are also the views of all the other guests I came into contact with.

I'd like to thank you both very much for making this a really wonderful Christmas break for my wife and I. May I also take this opportunity to wish you both a happy and prosperous 2012.

David Mullins - Christmas 2011

Perfection
I cannot speak highly enough about this hotel.
The welcome was warm and personal, the hotel was beautifully decorated while being warm and welcoming, the rooms very comfortable, the staff attentive but invisible, the Boss does not miss a thing, her attention to detail throughout the day is amazing she makes one feel you are the only guest. The food is unbelievable, how this does not have a Michelin 3 star rating I dont know. Would I go back...............cant wait!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Late Rooms Review - November 2011

Thank you a million times over.
I still keep thinking back about how fun the whole time was. One of the best comments came from my cousin's husband, who is the manager of the 4 Seasons in San Francisco..."our events staff could learn from this service". But more fun than that, all our friends here keep calling us and saying how memorable their time at Broadoaks was.

Thank you so much.

With the kindest regards,
Kathryn and Mike (USA)

Kathryn and Mike - 11 Nov 2011

Hi Zoe,

Sorry there has been a bit of a delay but we just wanted to say thank you so much to all of you at Broadoaks that made our wedding day so special. The whole weekend was absolutely fabulous from start to finish and all of your hard work behind the scenes made it so relaxed!!

We had a number of people saying it was the best wedding they have been to and everyone thought the food was delicious! Thank you again to all of you for putting it all together.

Best Wishes
Lizzie and Ben Bishop

Lizzie and Ben Bishop - 22 Jan 2011

We recently visited Broadoaks for a short break after a hectic period at work, and we found that it provided all we were looking for. The location up on the hill in (or very near) Troutbeck was perfect; there were fantastic views down to Lake Windermere every morning, and one could embark on any number of splendid walks either straight from the door, or after a short drive.

Our room was very comfortable and warm, and we appreciated the plentiful supply of tea/coffee/hot chocolate/bottled water/fruit (especially after long walks). We especially enjoyed our pre-dinner drinks in the music room next to the roaring open fire, which provided the ideal setting to relax and meet fellow guests (if that was what one wanted). We ate in the restaurant for 3 nights, and although the menu did only change slightly over the 3 nights, we found that there was no shortage of appealing choices from which to choose. The wine list was varied and interesting, but we also found the house wines to be excellent choices. We also took coffee in the music room after dinner, and the little chocolates provided alongside were quite delicious!

All in all we found all the staff (and indeed the owners who were there when we visited) to be very attentive and professional. When we departed we felt we had been suitably pampered, and hope to return for another visit very soon.

Thanks again,
Wendy

Wendy Phillips - Nov 2010

By walking into Broadoaks you are embarking on something truly special. Our stay over New Year was met with impeccable service without pretentiousness. Like a swan gliding across a lake the close-knit team makes running a hotel look easy! It will definitely be our first choice when we next visit.

Elane & Andrew MacDonald - Jan 2009

Just wanted to say a big thank you to Joe, David, the Chefs and ALL the Staff who made our New Years Eve such a great one. From the minute we arrived we were made to feel at home and nothing was too much trouble despite the fact that you must have all worked very hard over the Christmas period….so well done!
Hope to see you soon.Best regards for a good 2009

Helen & John Frain-Kaye - Jan 2009